If you use MS SQL Server as your database, then the built-in SQL Server and Windows
authentication will keep your database
protected. Otherwise, if you use MS Access the database file (apecal.mdb) must use a
database password. The default MS
Access database files that come with Ape Software version 7.2.5 and later have password encryption
by default. If you
are upgrading from a previous version and use MS Access, you must manually set the password
for your database.
Activating User-Authentication (sign-in mode)
Any user can activate User-Authentication mode after ensuring at least one Active
User has Administrative privileges. Only
a User with Administrative privileges can deactivate User-Authentication.
What Can an Administrator Do?
Administrator has full access to all parts of the application that require any level
of security. An Admin can create Users
and change the privileges of any other, including other Admins.
What Can't an Administrator Do?
Admin cannot remove him/herself from being an Admin while User-Authentication mode
is activated; one Admin must remove the Admin
privileges of another. This is a safety feature to ensure there is at least one Admin
while the application is in UA mode.
Admins and Passwords
When an Admin creates or changes the password for any user, other than him/herself,
that user will be required to change their password
the next time they sign in. Use the Password Security
Dialog page for help in implementing
and adjusting Password Security methods.
There are seven pre-defined security roles, which are: Administrator, Super User,
Supervisor, Technician, Production, and Layout.
Although these Roles cannot be changed, Admins and Super Users can change which Role
has access to which Permission.
Hierarchy of Roles
A user with no Roles assigned can see, print, or export any information. Each
of the other Roles has the privileges of a user
with no Role in addition to:
Administrator: Can do anything that requires security.
Super User Can do anything an Administrator can do except
add or edit Users.
Supervisor: Same authority as Technician and Production
except that by default can edit Technician Name and Status of calibration records
and can remove relationships between Equipment and Jobs.
Technician: Can create and edit most equipment records.
By default cannot edit the Technician Name (added automatically) or the Status
of calibration records.
Production: Can add Job records that record which jobs equipment
is used on. By default cannot remove Job records.
Layout: Has the authority to make most application layout
changes relating to look and feel.
There are 63 pre-defined Permissions for 63 areas of the applications that require
a given level of security. Although each
Permission has a default minimum Role, Administrators can change the Role of any of the Permissions.
Change Management (Audit Log)
All field and label changes are tracked in the 'Activity Data' tab. It records
time/date, user (if UA mode is activated), screen where the changes
were made, machine (computer) name, and the detail of the change. The change detail includes
field names and before/after data.
Last updated: 8 Feb 2017
Compatibility: Calibration Control versions 7.2 to current